Top Pick Book Recommendations

Top Pick Recommendations by Bubbles

These top pick recommendations are in no particular order. These are some of the books that have really stuck with me that I sometimes think about. That’s how you know they’re good. Check back from time to time for new titles that I find to add to my top pick section because I update my blog frequently.

top pick

Scars by Vivian Ward

Category: Contemporary Romance

Book Blurb

“You Know my brother is going to kill you, right?
I tried to clean up my act and swore that I’d stay out of trouble, but when I saw Mia Rivers, I knew it was all over. Not even the threat of death would keep us apart,
But her big brother was standing in the way. He’d kill me if he knew his sister was squirming beneath me at night.
There’s just one thing that he doesn’t realize, and that’s that I’d rather spend all eternity in a wooden box than live without his sister.
Scars is a full-length BWWM Single Parent Romance novel (50,000 words). It contains steamy scenes and there is no cliffhanger.”

I love Scars and it’s a top pick because the title rightly agrees with both the theme and the plot of the book. This is a second-chance love story that shows how scars from the past carry over to the present and how trying love can be and the complications that our families can sometimes bring. Nick and Mia were high school sweethearts but due to circumstances, went their own ways until they could no longer escape their past. Mia’s now a single mom and Nick’s been through hell and back with his own addictions and struggles. Ms. Ward does a fantastic job of showing us that true love is never really lost on us and that sometimes second chances are what we need most.

top pick

Escape by Carolyn Jessop

Category: Religious Cults (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints)

Book Blurb

“The dramatic first-person account of life inside an ultra-fundamentalist American religious sect, and one woman’s courageous flight to freedom with her eight children.

When she was eighteen years old, Carolyn Jessop was coerced into an arranged marriage with a total stranger: a man thirty-two years her senior. Merril Jessop already had three wives. But arranged plural marriages were an integral part of Carolyn’s heritage: She was born into and raised in the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (FLDS), the radical offshoot of the Mormon Church that had settled in small communities along the Arizona-Utah border. Over the next fifteen years, Carolyn had eight children and withstood her husband’s psychological abuse and the watchful eyes of his other wives who were locked in a constant battle for supremacy.

Carolyn’s every move was dictated by her husband’s whims. He decided where she lived and how her children would be treated. He controlled the money she earned as a school teacher. He chose when they had sex; Carolyn could only refuse—at her peril. For in the FLDS, a wife’s compliance with her husband determined how much status both she and her children held in the family. Carolyn was miserable for years and wanted out, but she knew that if she tried to leave and got caught, her children would be taken away from her. No woman in the country had ever escaped from the FLDS and managed to get her children out, too. But in 2003, Carolyn chose freedom over fear and fled her home with her eight children. She had $20 to her name.

Escape exposes a world tantamount to a prison camp, created by religious fanatics who, in the name of God, deprive their followers the right to make choices, force women to be totally subservient to men, and brainwash children in church-run schools. Against this background, Carolyn Jessop’s flight takes on an extraordinary, inspiring power. Not only did she manage a daring escape from a brutal environment, she became the first woman ever granted full custody of her children in a contested suit involving the FLDS. And in 2006, her reports to the Utah attorney general on church abuses formed a crucial part of the case that led to the arrest of their notorious leader, Warren Jeffs.”

Escape sticks with me because it shows how strong a mother can be and how we can do anything we set our minds to. Through perseverance and time, our heroine overcomes one obstacle after the next and lives at the whim of a crazy cult that she can’t escape. This top pick book makes you root for Carolyn all the way to the end, and hope and pray that she finally gets to live in peace.

top pick

 Arsen: A Broken Love Story by Mia Asher

Category: Women’s Fiction

Book Blurb

“One glance was all it took…

I’m a cheater.
I’m a liar.
My whole life is a mess.

I love a man.
No, I love two men…
I think.

One makes love to me. The other sets me on fire.
One is my rock. The other is my kryptonite.

I’m broken, lost, and disgusted with myself.

But I can’t stop. This is my story.
My broken love story.

*Standalone*”

OMG! First of all, let me warn you that there IS cheating in this book. But, also let me say that this is not your ordinary “cheating” book. There is so much more going on in this top pick. Cathy and Ben’s broken marriage, her inability to conceive that pushes them away, is what ultimately opens her up to Arsen. This book will break your heart, rip it to pieces and rebuild it back up again. But it will never be the same way it was before you started this book. Ms. Asher hasn’t released many books, but this is by far my favorite book of all time. It shows you what can happen when you’re vulnerable. It teaches us how someone can fall in love with two people at the same time. It makes us feel like our heart gets out of our body and drops like Ben’s heart does in the book. I could go on all day talking about this book.

top pick

One Second After by William R. Forstchen

Category: Dystopian

Book Blurb

“New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real…a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages…A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future…and our end.

The John Matherson Series
#1 One Second After
#2 One Year After
#3 The Final Day (forthcoming)

Other Books
Pillar to the Sky

At the Publisher’s request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.”

One Second After really opens your eyes as to how dependent we are on electricity and what would happen if an EMP were to strike the U.S. Saying it’s a scary thought doesn’t even do it justice. This novel (and series) gives you a very realistic look at what would happen if (and when) America gets attacked. The way people behave, the way our whole “currency” system is replaced with goods the way we don’t have medicine. People would rather trade bullets for food because the situation becomes that horrendous. The struggles our characters face in this top pick are challenging and unforgiving. This is a good book to read for people of all ages.